New to Cannabis in Colorado? Here’s What You Need to Know
Whether you’re a Colorado native new to consuming cannabis or you’ve recently relocated from a non-legal state and are looking to enjoy your newfound freedom, there are a few things you should know.
How Much Marijuana You Can Legally Buy and Possess
Adults 21-years-old and older are allowed to legally purchase up to one ounce of cannabis flower in a single transaction. If you’re interested in buying concentrates, however, you can only purchase up to 8 grams in a single transaction as they contain higher THC levels. If you’re interested in edibles, you are allowed to buy up to 800mg in a single transaction. Keep in mind that these laws only apply to purchasing. Per Colorado law, you are only permitted to legally possess up to one ounce at a time.
There’s Difference Between Medical and Recreational Marijuana
While there’s no difference in the medical and recreational product (weed is weed when it comes to med and rec laws in Colorado), medical marijuana patients need to carry a red card that is only registered to Colorado residents 18-years-old and older with a doctor’s recommendation.
People who do not carry a red card are not permitted in recreational dispensaries, but anyone 21 and older with a government-issued ID (regardless if they’re a Colorado resident) can purchase cannabis at a recreational dispensary. Medical patients can purchase weed in both types of dispensaries but get a tax break at medical dispensaries.
Throughout the state, there are over 500 medical and 500 recreational dispensaries to choose from but weed isn’t necessarily available everywhere. Counties can choose whether or not to allow legal pot. In Colorado Springs, for instance, recreational marijuana dispensaries are prohibited, while medical dispensaries are allowed and can be found everywhere.
It’s Legal to Grow Your Own
If you’ve got a green thumb and are interested in growing your own cannabis in Colorado, go right ahead. Colorado residents 21 and older can legally grow up to six plants at home, with three plants flowering at one time. As of January 1, 2018, each residence can only grow up to 12 plants, despite the number of adults over the age of 21 that live in the house. Plants must be kept in an enclosed, locked area, limiting your options for throwing a few plants outside during the growing season. Another thing…you can’t sell the weed you’ve grown or any marijuana products you’ve produced from it. Only licensed marijuana establishments are permitted to sell cannabis.
Smoking in Public is Prohibited
As much as people from other states might assume that folks in Colorado are just walking down the sidewalks smoking joints and consuming cannabis wherever they please, smoking in public is prohibited. Per Colorado law, consumption is restricted to private areas like your house or cannabis-friendly hotel.
That being said, people do regularly smoke pot outside their homes all the time, something that was taking place long before weed was made legal. If you’re going to puff in public (say at a park, on a hike, or even your front porch), make sure you do so at your own discretion. And please, be polite about it.
It’s Really Easy to Find Weed
There are over 500 recreational and 500 medical marijuana dispensaries throughout the state of Colorado. In Denver, there are more dispensaries than Starbucks. In Denver’s central business district pot shops outnumber Starbucks 4 to 1. There are at least 20 dispensaries in Pueblo alone, as well as a few scattered throughout rural Southern Colorado areas.
Not every city and town are privy to pot sales, however. You won’t find any recreational dispensaries in Colorado Springs, even though it’s the fastest growing city in the Centennial State. That being said, there’s certainly no shortage of cannabis in Colorado, and if you’re looking to (legally) score some pot you won’t have any trouble doing so.
The Pulp is fueled by your support…
Local and independent journalism is under threat in the West and you can change that. If you find value in what the PULP does, consider a one-time contribution or subscribing for full access to the PULP.